DEFEATED SANITY “Prelude to the Tragedy”

  • Release date: September 22, 2017
  • Label: XENOKORP Kvlt Series
  • Catalog #: XKR002


It took Berlin-based band DEFEATED SANITY ten long years to define, shape, sharpen and release what would become their debut full-length, “Prelude to the Tragedy” but it didn’t take long after that for the band to be recognized as one of the, if not the, leading artists of the new generation of technical / brutal Death Metal scene!

Preceded by a 3-track EP by the same title in March of 2004 on Grindethic Records from UK, the album, released in November of the same year by the same label, got remastered and reissued in 2011, still through Grindethic Records, but never got a vinyl release… until now!

Carefully remastered specifically for vinyl at the Conkrete studio (ANATA, MERCYLESS, OTARGOS…) with the agreement of the band, coming with detailed liner notes by founding member Lille Gruber and with two bonus tracks, this first release of the XENOKORP Kvlt Series is not only paying homage to a release that’s one of the landmarks and blueprints of today’s technical / brutal Death Metal scene but also respectfully upgrades it to a whole new level of intensity and brutality!


  • XKR002TP – Test Press
  • XKR002LPLE – 200 hand-numbered copies red vinyl gatefold LP
  • XKR002LP – 300 hand-numbered copies black vinyl gatefold LP

Release Dates

  • Jun.19, 2017 – Preorders at XenoKorp.com
  • Sep.22, 2017 – Worldwide release

Track List

  • Side A
  1. Liquifying Cerebral Hemispheres
  2. Drifting Further
  3. The Parasite
  4. Horrid Decomposition
  5. Tortured Existence
  • Side B
  1. Apocalypse of Filth / Collapsing Human Failures
  2. Remnants of the Deed
  3. Prelude to the Tragedy
  4. Expectoration of Fear
  5. Drifting Further [2002 demo version]
  6. Apocalypse of Filth / Collapsing Human Failures [from the 2003 split with Imperious Malevolence]
  • Total Running Time: 44:29


  • Markus Keller – Vocals
  • Wolfgang Teske – Guitars
  • Tino Köhler – Bass
  • Lille Gruber – Drums


  • All music and lyrics by DEFEATED SANITY
  • Produced at the SOUNDFORGE studio
  • Vinyl remaster by Frédéric Motte at the CONKRETE studio
  • Executive Producer : Nicolas Williart for XENOKORP
  • Issued under exclusive official GRINDETHIC licence